Quality Legal Representation With Compassion & Integrity

Chris Brown Logo

Call Today For a Free Consultation
609.344.8270

DWI / DUI Penalties in NJ

Penalties For DWI/DUI Conviction in NJ

Current Municipal Court Public Defender Skilled in Handling Driving Under the Influence Cases in New Jersey and throughout the State

Unfortunately, one of the more common charges seen throughout New Jersey’s Municipal Court system is Driving Under the Influence, N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.  Not only is a DUI a very serious charge, but it also comes with substantial collateral consequences that can affect your driving record for the rest of your life.  In order to help with your case, it is very important to be represented by a lawyer who handles these types of violations on a daily basis.

 If you or someone you know has been charged with Driving Under the Influence, we can help.  For a free and confidential consultation, please contact The Brown Law Firm at (609) 344-8270 or visit us at christopherbrownlaw.com.  

DUI Lawyer Well Versed in the New Jersey DUI Laws

You will be charged under N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 if you are: 

A person who operates a motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating liquor, narcotic, hallucinogenic or habit-producing drug, or operates a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or more by weight of alcohol in the defendant’s blood or permits another person who is under the influence of intoxicating liquor, narcotic, hallucinogenic or habit-producing drug to operate a motor vehicle owned by him or in his custody or control or permits another to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or more by weight of alcohol in the defendant’s blood. 

On August 23, 2019, Governor Murphy signed bill S-824 into law, which changes the penalties for first offense DUI offenses, coming into effect on December 1, 2019.  Prior to the changes established through bill S-824, the penalties for a first offense DUI would be:

  1. First Offense (BAC between .08 and .10): A fine of $250-$400, between 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC), up to 30 days imprisonment, and a driver’s license suspension for a period of three (3) months;
  2. First Offense (BAC between .10 and higher): A fine of $300-$500, between 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC), up to 30 days imprisonment, and a driver’s license suspension for a period between seven (7) months and one (1) year.

Due to the hardship that a license suspension has on an individual, Governor Murphy signed into law Bill S824 to shorten the amount of time a person would lose their driver’s license.  As a result, the penalties for a first offense DUI have drastically changed. Under the new sentencing structure coming into effect on December 1, 2019, a first offense DUI brings the following penalties:

  1. First Offense (BAC between .08 and .10): 30-day loss of license and must install the ignition interlock device at your own cost and use between 3 and 6 months;
  2. First Offense (BAC between .10 and .15): 45-day loss of license and must install the ignition interlock device at your own cost and use between 6 months and 1 year;
  3. First Offense (BAC at or above .15): 90-day loss of license and must install the ignition interlock device at your own cost and use between 1 year and 18 months.

In addition to the above penalties, the penalties for a first offense DUI includes fines ranging between $250 and $500, between 12 and 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, and up to 30 days in county jail.  

What does this mean if I am stopped for DUI?  

The new penalties for first offense DUIs drastically reduce the length of time for driver’s license suspensions and instead focuses on the imposition of the ignition interlock device.  This device is connected to the vehicle requires the driver to have below a certain BAC before the vehicle will start. If the person blows above a certain BAC (normally .05%), the machine will not allow the vehicle to start.

Contact the Law Firm of Christopher A. Brown for Excellent Representation in Municipal Court.

If you or anyone you may know has been charged with Driving Under the Influence, finding a competent attorney should be your top priority.  Effective representation in Municipal Court can greatly affect the outcome of your case.  

The attorneys at the Law Firm of Christopher A. Brown are tenacious advocates and strive to obtain the best possible outcome for every client.  For experienced Municipal Court representation, please contact the Law Firm of Christopher A. Brown at (609) 344-8270 or at christopherbrownlaw.com for a free consultation. 

Drinking and driving is not only illegal, but dangerous and quite often deadly. It’s important to always designate a sober driver, for your safety as well as for those within your community. Stay alive – don’t drink and drive!

Quality Legal Representation with Compassion & Integrity